April Showers II

It would be criminal for me to write only one post about the Arkansas waterfalls that should be flowing in April.  So I’ll take you just down the road from Haw Creek Falls to Pam’s Grotto.

I’m not sure why, but we have never hiked Pam’s Grotto together as a family.  Kurt has taken each one of us on separate occasions.  Austin joined him first in 2012.  Somehow they got off the easy three quarter mile trail, and had to scale down the enormous hill into the grotto.

pams2

If I remember correctly, a GPS was lost on this adventure.  Austin dropped it off the cliff as they were surveying the situation, just as his dad said, “Don’t let go of the GPS son!”

pams3

On my journey in 2013, I was fascinated by the enormous cliffs on the trail.  Now I know they are nothing like some of the rock formations in the Rockies or Yosemite (I’ve been there, so I know), but they are, nonetheless, amazing.  Their vastness and varied colors never cease to give me reason to pause and enjoy.   Additionally, the travel time to this area is about an hour!

pams6

The intricate detail of the rocks was impressive!

pams5

And of course the waterfall was beautiful.  It was fun exploring the area itself.  There were footpaths all around, allowing viewpoints from many different angles.

pams4

Sabrina went last year….

pams7

 

and got this amazing shot!  (She’s got a pretty good teacher!)

pams1

 

The weather is supposed to get nasty later this week, which means that many waterfalls around the state will be fed.  This weekend spend some time exploring Arkansas.  In my opinion, it’s a great investment!

One thought on “April Showers II

Leave a Reply

