Lost Valley – Eden Falls in December

Abundant rainfall came in December 2013.  Wanting to enjoy the waterfalls of Lost Valley, we returned to the Ponca area for a pre-holiday hike, and Mother Nature did not disappoint!

The clear stream that borders the trail was flowing, a definite sign of good things to come.

declost2

It was impossible to explore underneath the Natural Bridge.  A waterfall covered the rocks where I had rested the year before.

declost3
Eden Falls lived up to my expectations.  At fifty three feet in height, this is considered one of the most popular waterfalls in the state.  It’s got my vote as one of the most beautiful as well!

declost1

Kurt hiked around and found these smaller cascades while the kids and I were making our way to Eden Falls Cave.

declost5

I know now that there are several additional falls, namely Armadillo Falls and Middle and Upper Eden Falls, that we missed on this hike.  I guess that gives me a good excuse to return to one of my favorite places in the Natural State!

declost4
Sabrina and Kurt Selfie at Eden Falls

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Lost Valley – Eden Falls in December

  1. I feel like every time we head down that way we do the Lost Valley trail haha. Eden Falls is one of my favorite waterfalls in Arkansas when the water is flowing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

