Words for Wednesday – The Mountain

summit1

 

I stood at the base of a mountain
And looked up with a tremulous gaze
It’s impossible to reach the summit
I can’t do it; this will take days

Who is responsible for this
Who put me up to this test
It’s impossible to reach the summit
I can’t do it; I sadly confessed

I’m much too young, I’m not ready
This has got to be the wrong trail
It’s impossible to reach the summit
I can’t do it; I’m gonna fail

I felt overcome with inadequacy
As I surveyed the mountainside
It’s impossible to reach the summit
I can’t do it; I’m unqualified

summit2

Then from out of nowhere
Came a powerful force
It’s possible to reach the summit
You can do it, with my help, of course

I made you in my image
Full of talent and tenacity
It’s possible to reach the summit
You can do it; just trust in me

You are stronger than you think
You may bend, but you’ll never break
It’s possible to reach the summit
You can do it; this is no mistake

I stood at the base of the mountain
No longer dismayed or distressed
I know I can reach the summit
I can do it because I am blessed!

summit3

Leave a Reply

