Trajectory

I’m not sure how the rest of the world deals with things, but after I received my diagnosis, when it came to telling others, I tried to keep this little tidbit on the DL. I didn’t want to be the fodder for gossip, I didn’t want any sympathy, and, God forbid, I definitely needed no anecdotes of the horrifying trail that Parkinson’s has blazed in the past. Being a person who has dealt with lifelong anxiety, I required no help in stoking the flames of apprehension that could potentially paralyze me long before this disease did.

The peeps in my inner circle know me well enough to give me the support to do what’s best, which, in a nutshell, is best stated by Andy in the Shawshank Redemption.

“It comes down to a simple choice, really. Get busy living or get busy dying.”

I mean, there are things to do, people to see, and places to go! Good Lord, there are puppies to love, music to enjoy and landscapes to behold!

A Parkinson’s diagnosis will not alter that reality.

Now let’s get back to our 2020 California/Route 66 roadtrip!


Leave a comment